## Draft Minutes of the OCA AGM held on the 24th of November 2020.

The meeting opened at 6pm with a welcome and an outline of the procedures for the AGM.

No apologies were noted.

The membership of the organisation was recorded as 131.

There were 71 members in attendance making the AGM quorate

Minutes of the previous AGM held on Nov 26<sup>th</sup> 2019 were noted and adopted as an accurate reflection. Proposed by Edwin Angless, seconded Kimon Bisogno

The AGM paid tribute to Rob Gaylard, a long-time Observatory activist who died just before the AGM after a long illness. Various tributes were recorded. A notice inviting people to a celebration of his life was circulated for anyone wishing to attend. A moment's silence was observed.

The OCA made its first ever Award to a Heritage or Environmental Consultant of Integrity (HECI). The award was made to a botanist, Chris Nicolson, in recognition of his professional commitment to displaying independent scientific judgement in a development application EIA in Hermanus.

The Chair then presented his report followed by some discussion.

The Treasurer then presented the Annual Financial Report followed by discussion. The financial report was adopted by the meeting without dissention.

Three resolutions were proposed and discussed; all three resolutions were passed in the meeting and are appended to the minutes.

The three resolutions were adopted:

- a) MPT rezoning application: 57 votes 51 For and 6 against
- b) Ward Councillor call: 59 votes 58 For and 1 against
- c) High Court appeal: 59 votes 59 for and 0 against

The Election officer, Aditya Kumar, then took over for the elections for the positions of Chair, Deputy Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Communications, Architecture and Heritage, Arts Culture & Sport, Social Issues, Ward Committee Rep, TRUPA Rep. The voting procedure was outlined. However, because some members were sharing devices, or using devices which did not have video, it was agreed that those members could submit their votes after the meeting by email to the Election Officer within 24 hours and he would confirm they were bona fide members before finalising the final tally of votes.

Each nominee for a position was presented. Where there was only one nominee, votes were cast as yes/no or not sure; where there were more than one nominee, votes were cast in the name of the nominee or as don't know. Although it was intended that all nominees present themselves to the meeting prior to a vote on their position, this was not consistently practiced, and some members voiced the feeling after the vote had taken place, that this disadvantaged a candidate who had not

been asked to present herself. However, after a long discussion, the meeting agreed to proceed with the election process.

The final results after counting emailed votes after the election was as follows:

## **Voting results confirmed:**

Uncontested positions:

Position	Candidate	For	Against	Abstain
Chairperson	Leslie London	60	0	0
Treasurer	Joy Robinson	51	5	3
Architecture and Heritage	Naomi Roux	57	2	2
Communications	Edwin Angless	49	7	4
Arts, Culture and Sport	Tauriq Jenkins	53	4	4
Social Issues	Kimon Bisogno	60	1	1

## Contested positions:

Secretary	Thabang Bhili	41
	Makgosi Letimile	24
	Abstain	6
Deputy Chair	Roegchanda Pascoe	39
	Sheila Barsel	25
	Abstain	4

The election for a rep to the next Ward Committee was preceded by a long discussion on whether we should be electing a Ward report for 2021 at our 2020 AGM at all. The election ended with 19 votes for Edwin Angless, 20 votes against and 20 abstentions. The discussion preceding the vote indicated that many people interpreted the vote as a vote on whether we should be electing a Ward representative for 2021 at our 2020 AGM at all. The position thus was not filled and will need to be filled when the 2021 Ward Committee is established.

There being no other business, the AGM closed at 8.40pm.